Abortion


The poem was written, from my own frustration.  Hard to stomach sometimes what I  hear and see in regards to abortion.  I cringe when I hear a man in front of a camera willing to use this subject to perhaps further his own gain.  It deeply saddens me when women scream at women, shutting each other down.  Abortion is such an ugly thing, so ugly I think it forces us to ugliness.  Back against the wall most of us will pull out justification, blame and judgement to overcome our fear, sadness and what eventually becomes loss of self.

 

Fists pounded, screams cried

Vicious attacks, no longer denied

I demand the “right to choose”

Don’t dare discuss the child to loose

Why is it, we don’t talk to one another?

When comes the choice, not to mother

I fiercely proclaim, “my right” is right!

Life and death, painfully evolves into fight

But the loss involves more than just a voice

Compassion seems, not part of the choice

For the voiceless child, where is the concern?

Separation of child from parent, how to discern?

Protests screamed, don’t dare “rip” that child from mother’s arm’s

Message inconsistent, when the voiceless we’re willing to harm!!!!

Can we not consider, the possibility we’re failing each other

As demands produce loss,  innocence cry as if to be smothered

Leave a comment