Left dazed, confused and sad from Women’s March


Last night I sat and watched some of the media coverage from the Women’s March. Ashley Judd recited in full theatric, a poem she had received from another woman. As I observed her face contort and voice reflect added disdain and hate in word spoken, it was heartbraking and frightening. I felt sorry for her and the woman who wrote it. Their pain, fear and rage I do believe to be real and the reading left me not only saddened but a little dazed and confused. While I have empathy for the pain and frustration, it was almost lost in the confusion and appearance of little to no compassion  in message. It is sad to me that in times of fear, women too will allow themselves to be used to the detriment of the very issues we hold dear. I felt as if I had witnessed an assault and the assaultee had become the assaulter, the hypocricy of the bullied acting so much the bully, was not lost.

As a woman, who believes in the power of women, I pray we do not start to become the ugly we accuse others of. Please let’s not turn our backs on one another and attack. I think change happens because of the empathy God gives us for one another. Empathy is not an empty gesture, exclusivity or hard hitting words, meant to hurt/shock and exploit another’s pain. It is an act of love and not one done by espousing vitriol for or towards another.
I pray that we start talking about issues, rather than talking at, degrading, judging and cursing in our self-righteous behavior.
I see women on both sides of the abortion issue shaming each other. It is beyond sad to me that if I am pro/life some feel the need to shame me for my belief. I came to that belief for reasons I would love to discuss.
At the same time I absolutely do not want to shame another for being pro/choice and I would love to know why you feel that way, not just that you do and that is because you see I do believe there is an unprotected being involved. I was raised to believe that is what women do, they protect those who can not protect themselves. I also think many of those at the march are there because they too want to stand up where others may not to. I am just wanting to know why are the unborn not included?
I do not want to believe women are against each other I want and pray that we use our hearts as well as our minds to share thoughts and most importantly testimony.
I know there is a reason we believe differently and I hope we will start listening to each other.
For me it is hard to listen though, when blame and shame is being used as a weapon, from either side, that is WRONG and will not provide solution but more pain, sparation and destruction.
In regards to abortion, I know firsthand the panic and terror that a woman feels when faced with an unwanted pregnancy. I have experienced the guilt and shame that can come with abortion. For myself, when I accepted the love of Christ I also accepted the guilt I felt over the ending of life. For me acknowledging the remorse and guilt became a motivating factor towards a God of Love, Forgiveness and Life. I believe God sheds light on the dark place where we each can experience shame.  Shame is  debilitating and when used as a weapon (whether that be self/inflicted or projected) it keeps us stuck, divided and alone in the dark. There is no answer in shaming each other on either side of this issue. We can not find a solution, when we continually wield blame and shame as our weapons of choice.

My belief is that life begins at conception and I know that a heartbeat can be detected at six weeks. I don’t simply believe this because I want to, in fact I am pretty unpopular in my belief. But I have lived it and researched the “facts”. This is where  I will readily admit that one thing about the facts, is that we each tend use “facts” from sources that back our belief/agenda, it is for that reason I believe we are to unite in discussion in hopes to share past our own agendas and truly protect life and those facing such pain in it.

Leave a Reply

