The Bigger The Baubles, All The Better


I found this old dresser in the shop of a home my boys had purchased as a rental.  To say my heart skipped a beat is an understatement.  Sometimes when coming across worn out pieces from yesteryear, I have to remind myself to “breathe, remember to breathe.”

The last two days I have tackled the rustic relic and have had so much fun doing so.  Yesterday I drank wine and blasted my Dean Martin tunes all while cleaning, scraping, and painting.  Believe me I got the paint in and on parts of me that not even my sweetie sees too often.

Today was even better because Liam, my 6yr old grandson helped me run the sander and I made sure the drawer he did is right on top.  He even attached those beautiful knobs to couple drawers.

When I start a piece I only spend money on either fabric or knobs.  To me the bigger the baubles or flashier the fabric, the better.  I usually use sample paints I pick up for couple bucks at hardware store.  I make my own chalkpaint with plaster of paris.  Because this dresser has a cedar chest in bottom drawer, I stained all sides of drawers and also used a honey paste to polish.

My goal was to restore a little “quirky” grandeurimage to such a pretty piece of the past, have fun doing so and spend quality time with my cherished little friend.  I got it all in and am so grateful for that.

One thought on “The Bigger The Baubles, All The Better

Leave a Reply

