Oh Brother, I Know Where Art Thou


daylily at home
Not too long ago one of my brothers died.
There are four of us kids total, two girls, two boys with one less temporarily.

I’ve been writing about my brother in the last couple of posts.
I will most likely continue to write about my brother for sometime to come.

I believe very strongly that love is never broken. I believe just as much that our loved ones who loved us so, would want us to live, learn and grow in love from their living into death.

This is just the start of acknowledgement to what I learned from my brother;

1. Hate less and love more. For me Christ is love and because I know my brother is now with Jesus, I get much comfort from this.

2. Waste no time getting caught up in petty behavior, whether it be your own or anothers, just don’t do it! It’s usually hurtful to all and so not productive!!!!

3. Say what you mean and mean what you say (I just love this one, because I hate manipulation but have been known to do it).

4. Do not live as if in fear. The worst that can happen is that you try and fail. I think in my brother’s book, it was better to have the guts to fail than to never try at all. My brother was one courageous man and lived life as an adventure.

5. Your family may not be close at hand but love them, praise them, correct them (on occasion) as if they are. Your family is everything Christ has gifted you.

6. For my brother this was his first and foremost lesson for those of us who loved him so. My brother loved his spouse more than life itself. He lived a life where his love for another came before any of his own needs.

Thank you Mike for all you were and all you continue to be.

One thought on “Oh Brother, I Know Where Art Thou

  1. Pam, you are a very gifted writer of your feelings and the only thing I might add to #3 is…Say what you mean, mean what you say, and don’t say it mean! Does this work for you? Your brother sounds like he was a gift to all who knew him. What a blessing. Take good care and continue to share your brother’s life and wisdom with us. I wish you a very blessed New Year and look forward to reading about your many ventures in 2014. Thank you for sharing your brother with me.

    Date: Sun, 29 Dec 2013 08:59:02 +0000 To: mzcharma@hotmail.com

Leave a Reply

