It’s All In How and Where You Look (when you’re about to put a little paint on the old barn)


greenmetaltablebeforemetaltable

It’s official I am now a total yard sale junkie (I hope I don’t have to explain this to you, but just in case, the previous statement is a play on words and FUNNY).

Besides stumbling upon my long lost ass (previous post that you really should go back and read) at a yard sale a few weeks ago, I recently came upon a couple more diamonds in the rough and I do mean rough.

I’m starting to realize that finding the long neglected piece of trash/treasure gets me hooked with just the fun of the hunt. But what really trips the trigger and floats the boat is then getting it home and beating the rough right on out of it. Lord, what a rush! Let me interject right now, that I am one heck of a boomin baby boomer and I know a good rush when I get one.

Enough of that, now back to the good stuff. After paying next to nothing for the junk (which is a high in itself) I can hardly wait to get my refurbishing on!!!!
My husband has told me for years that “it never hurts to put a little paint on the old barn.” I’m pretty sure he has been directing that statement in my direction since menopause. But nonetheless it most definitely applies to my old/new treasures.

It is so satisfying to make something old, new again. Actually as I write, it dawns on me that for me this yard sale-ing, refurbishing thing is a metaphor for life. We all start off shiny (maybe a little pruney too) and new. With much love, luck and sometimes neglect a lot of us get worn out, tired and old. But, hopefully with a little help along the way somebody still sees there’s really no such thing as old junk. There’s treasure in everything and everybody if you know where and how to look.

2 thoughts on “It’s All In How and Where You Look (when you’re about to put a little paint on the old barn)

  1. It looks great! I love the excitement of a good deal and taking the yard sale treasures and making them new again too! It’s a special kind of high!! lol

    • Thank you for the kind words, I very much appreciate that your reading and enjoying the blog.
      It really is fun this yard sale thing. With the change of weather comes new adventures and many more a treasure hunt to be sure.
      Happy almost summer

Leave a Reply

