You Go “Fly a Kite” In Your Best Poker Face


go fly a kite at mardon

I’ll preface this little essay with a great big TGIF!!!! I LOVE Fridays. I LOVE Friday’s so much that I think the work week should consist of Monday, Friday, Wednesday, Friday, Thursday would be followed by Friday of course.

Don’t get me wrong, I am so grateful to be employed and for the most part have wonderful job with wonderful people. Nonetheless I am a person who believes totally in enjoying my down time and I do it with zeal. In fact I consider myself somewhat of a professional relax-ologist (I do realize that is not a profession but darn I wish it was, cause I’d be rich).

Okay, now that I’ve flexed my Friday night I’m off work muscle I’ll get to the gist of this little ditty.

I want to know if there are others out there, who don’t or maybe can’t (without hurting themselves) pull out a poker face when need be.

I’ve always hoped to achieve the look of poker face perfection. But a well meaning coworker recently felt the need to point out that I could be “read like a book”. I’m hoping she wasn’t really saying that I could be “read like a well worn book” because that would just be rude. I don’t know for sure though, she has way more of a poker face than I do.

While I pride myself on the fact that with me it’s “what you see is what you get.” I really don’t like that “what you see is what you get” part of me. Because I now realize that I have no stinkin filter on my face!!!!!!

This became even more apparent to me later when talking to another coworker who was asking for my advice on a personal issue. Inside I was screaming out “dear God, where’s the door. I don’t want to tell her what I really think”. On the outside I was trying probably in vain to display a mature, wise and calm demeanor. All the while I was thinking about the fact my face filter was nonexistent. In silence I prayed “face, please don’t fail me now”.

But, I think it probably did because I detected a slight look of disdain in her eyes. Actually, now that I think about it I don’t think she has much of a poker face either because I’m pretty sure there was a “why don’t you go fly a kite” look on her face.

One thought on “You Go “Fly a Kite” In Your Best Poker Face

Leave a Reply

