It’s a Bloomin’ Contest in “LaLa” Land


Fresh Water Pearl Drop Earrings 15.00  www.etsy.com/shop/sisylala

It’s official, here in “LaLa” land there is a serious case of spring into summer fever!  The symptoms have been popping up all over and I find myself itching to get outside every chance I get.  The flowers in bloom haven’t helped to relieve my frequent need to “stop and smell the roses”.  In fact all the lovely fragrance and beautiful color just feeds the fever.  So I made a call to my sissy and she reminded me your supposed to “feed the fever, starve the cold”, or maybe it’s the other way around.  None the less, I decided to just go with my diagnosis, turn up the heat and brake out the garden gloves.  There has been flower cutting, floral arranging and picture taking galore.  In my bloomin’ delerium I decided why not have a little more fun and encourage all of you to catch the bug and join me in a little contest.  The contest begins upon publish of this post and will conclude 05.11.10.  The winner will receive their choice of either one of the two bracelets pictured.

"Pearls of Wisdom" Wrap BraceletJust scroll down to bottom of page and leave a comment.  The rules are as follows:

1. SisyLaLa wants to know, what is your favorite flower?

2. You have to guess SisyLaLa’s favorite flower? (and don’t worry SisyLaLa has only one favorite and there will be no changing that favorite anytime during the contest).

The first TWO correct answers are WINNERS!!!! I will notify you 05.12.10 and will arrange at that time to mail off your prize.  I welcome all comments but in regards to the game it is one guess per person.

www.etsy.com/shop/sisylala

Let the game begin!
SisyLaLa
Pam
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

17 thoughts on “It’s a Bloomin’ Contest in “LaLa” Land

    • Mica,
      Thank you for your guess. I too think tulips are beautiful. But, I can’t say right now if they are my favorite. We’ll just have to wait and see. In the mean time I found this little tidbit of info on your favorite flower.
      Tulips are very popular to an extent that during the 17th century, most of Europe, particularly Holland, was gripped in a craze for Tulips as a result of which many had to even sell off their fortunes. It was popularly known as Tulipomania

    • Mica,

      Again, can’t say if iris is it, but it is a good guess. I’ll let ya know next week.
      The word Iris means a rainbow. Iris is the flower of the Greek Goddess Iris who is the messenger of Love. In the language of flowers Iris symbolizes eloquence

    • Kim,

      Thank you for sharing your favorite’s. Another read also likes the tulip. Peonies are gorgeous, just wish they lasted longer. The lily is a very good guess. I’ll let you know next week if it’s right. I did just a little research on one of your favorites.
      Peonies are herbaceous perennials. There are 30 species of Peonies, but some are woody shrubs with 10 species. Peonies were named in honour of Paeon, the physician of the gods. Peonies produce large, often fragrant flowers. Blooming inlate spring and early summer,Peonies come in shades of red to white or yellow. Peonies are native to Asia, Southern Europe and Western North America.

  1. 1. My favorite flower is Lilacs, the smell is amazing and relaxing.

    2. Your favorite flower is Iris (Okay, that is a total guess…LOL)

    • Susan,

      You are in some very good company with the iris guess. We will just have to wait and see if that may or may not be the correct answer.
      In regards to your favorite flower read on for just little more info.
      Aside from Roses, there is no flower as beautiful and aromatic as Lilacs. Of the two, Lilacs have a stronger scent that carries quite a distance. Unfortunately, Lilacs bloom for only a very brief couple of weeks in the spring. To prolong their presence in your yard, grow a variety of Lilacs, including, early, mid and late varieties. With variety and luck, you may be able to see Lilacs in bloom in your yard for up to six weeks. Weather will have a lot to do with how long your blooms last. Once the buds begin to open, pray for a cool dry spell. Once the blooms are over, you still have a nice shade bush, but you have to wait for up to fifty more weeks to see them again.

  2. My favorite flower is Stock. It is so fragrant and I am for sure a “smell” person.
    I think yours is the SUNFLOWER. I sure hope I win

    • Janet,

      I did not get your guess, please try again. In regards to your favorite Iam not familiar with that at all. Fill me in, I can never learn enough when it comes to flowers.
      Did you know production of many flower fragrances displays a circadian cycle -that is, they are stronger at certain times during the day or night. Snapdragons, for example, are more fragrant during the day, when bee pollinators are likely to be active. Nicotiana is more fragrant at night, when its moth pollinators are out and about.

    • Joy and Sadi,

      Good guess I do like daisy’s alot but not sure if my favorite. I guess you will have to wait and see!!!!!!!!! Here’s a little more info about Sadi’s favorite.
      Daffodils, the flowers symbolising friendship, are one of the most popular flowers exclusively due to their unmatched beauty. Daffodils belong to the genus Narcissus. Daffodil flowers have a trumpet-shaped structure set against a star-shaped background. Often the trumpet is in a contrasting color from the background. The name Daffodils includes the cluster-flowered yellow Jonquils and the White Narcissi , as well as the include as the more common trumpet shaped flowers (right), members of the genus Narcissus.

  3. Maddog,
    Grandma, I think your favorite flower would be a rose.
    I don’t know why but it’s a guess.
    My favorite flower is a (Tulip), because it’s the only flower that bassicly grows in our yard.
    HAPPY MOTHER’S DAY

    • Maddie,

      That is a good guess. I do like roses, especially pink ones. But, I’m not sure if roses are my favorite. I will let you know next week. I agree tulips are pretty and I think you have a greener thumb than you give yourself credit for. You come by it naturally, it’s in your genes. Please read on about the rose.
      The rose has been a symbol of love, beauty, even war and politics from way back in time. The variety, color and even number of Roses carry symbolic meanings. The Rose is most popularly known as the flower of love, particularly Red Rose.

    • Lindsey,

      Thank you for your guess. I do like orchids. There so beautiful and I’ll let you know Wed if they are my favorite.. Thank you again for sharing .
      Wedding Flowers 60K
      … Asters, Queen Anne’s Laces, Snapdragons, Solidastors, Statices, Stephanotis, Stock flowers …
      Wedding Flowers play an integral part in any wedding, used for both decoration and for tradition. Wedding Flowers – Wedding Ceremony Flowers and Wedding Reception Flowers – set the mood and tone for the day….

Leave a Reply

